Site MapContact UsLegal Multilingual Minnesota, Inc. 2009

Home > For Teachers of Low-Literate Adult ESL > Extensive Reading Resources






 

 



************************************************

"The best way for readers themselves to acquire automaticity with bottom-level processing is by extensive active practice with reading material that
is enjoyable and easy."

- Barbara Birch, English L2 Reading, p.170

************************************************

"Extensive reading can -- perhaps must -- play an important role in developing the components upon which fluent second language reading depends..."

"...extensive reading is a student-centered and student-managed activity..."

"...extensive reading should be an integral part of reading instruction in the second language classroom."

"Extensive reading is an approach to the teaching and leaning of second language reading in which learners read large quantities of books and other materials that are well within their linguistic competence."

-R.Day and J. Bamford, Extensive Reading in the Second Language Classroom

************************************************

What is extensive reading?

The following publishers create books that can be used for extensive reading. While many of these books were created for young learners, if chosen and used carefully, instructors of adolescents and adults can benefit from many of these reading materials as well.

Benchmark Education: www.benchmarkeducation.com/english-language-learners/early-explorers/early-explorers.html
Educa Vision:www.educavision.com (books in Kreyol)
Gatehouse Books: www.gatehousebooks.co.uk
Hampton-Brown: www.hampton-brown.com 
Lerner Publishing: www.lernerclassroom.com or www.lernerbooks.com 
Linmore Publishing: linmorepublishing.com
National Geographic:  www.nationalgeorgraphic.com/education/windows 
Pearson Longman: www.longmanusahome.com or www.penguinreaders.com
Penguin Press: us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/publishers/adult/penguinpress.html
Peppercorn Books has got some great short "books" for emerging adult readers, with super applicable content: www.peppercornbooks.com
Rosen Publishing: www.rosenpublishing.com or www.rosenclassroom.com
Scholastic, Inc.: www.scholastic.com or 1-800-724-6527
Saddleback Publishing: www.sdlback.com
Townsend Press: www.townsendpress.com